They lost me at caffeine

Since it’s the end of the year, everyone is gearing up with blog posts aimed toward the resolution demographic. When I used to work out at the Y, I used to hate the bump in traffic for the first six weeks of the year. That’s one thing about working out at a CrossFit gym at 5am that I love: no resolutioners adding traffic.

So, Spot Athletics talks about getting the C.R.A.P. out of your diet. I can get with the idea of dropping the refined sugars, additives, and preservatives. That is what the Just Eat Real Food or Paleo diets are all about.

But, asking me to give up the sweet nectar of the gods called coffee and the caffeine that it contains is too much to ask of me.

Not consuming caffeine is one experiment that I’m not sure if I can undertake. Maybe if I won the lottery and didn’t have to get up at 3:30am to get to 5am CrossFit classes….

In this advice piece from Nick Shaw of Renaissance Periodization, I like the ideas of just avoiding the big pitfalls and being flexible.

Avoiding the pitfalls helps get the success going and being flexible can help people stay on course without going crazy. That is the whole idea behind 350+150. Finding what works for you and what you can consistently do.

And on a completely different topic, CrossFit Invictus has a blog post about how to build toughness.

Those seem like crazy things to try. I know I can’t get anywhere near 150 wall ball shots unbroken. Well, if it’s a 20 lb wall ball to a 10 ft target. I might be able to get near there with a 2 lb ball….

The 9 Minutes of Hell does seem intriguing, though.

Leave a Reply

